I think what you describe is this feature?
clarkwinkelmann If the User Directory extension is enabled, the link is added to the top of the user list. Otherwise the link is added to the session dropdown.
It's intentional that the button moves if FoF User Directory is enabled.
If the button is gone from both places, that would be strange, but I'd investigate if that was the case.